Shows Main Header

Award Recipients

2013 Award Recipients

Predoctoral Awards

First Place:

Aaron Lulla, UCLA

“The Dithiocarbamate Fungicide Ziram Results in Endogenous Synuclein Aggregation, Dopaminergic Cell Loss, and Reduced Locomotor Behavior in a Zebrafish Model of Parkinson’s Disease”

Mentor: Jeff Bronstein

Second Place:

Dilshan Harischandra, Iowa State

“Manganese Exposure Induces Release of α-Synuclein and Promotes Exosome Mediated Cell to Cell Transmission of Synuclein Aggregates in Neurotoxicity Models”

Mentor: Anu Kanthasamy

Third Place:

Kevin Kumar, Vanderbilt

“Optimization of Fluorescence Assay of Cellular Manganese Status for High-Throughput Screening”

Mentor: Aaron Bowman

Postdoctoral Award

First Place:

Karen Streifel, UC Davis

“Structurally-Distinct Dopaminergic Neurotoxicants Acutely Decrease ATP-Dependent Calcium Signaling in Astrocytes by Inhibiting TRPC3”

Mentors: Ron Tjalkens/Pam Lein

Outgoing Councilor:

Chris Curran (pictured right) with Anu Kanthasamay (President) and Pam Lein (Past-President)

















Call for Supplemental Training for Education Program Applications (STEP) – Due 10/09/2018

Call for Distinguished Neurotoxicologists—Due December 7, 2018

A commemoration of the loss of one of our Distinguished Neurotoxicologists, Dr. Herbert Needleman...

Dr. Toshio Narahashi Obituary