Share this page.

Metals SS Metals SS Graduate Student/Postdoctoral Research Awards

Deadline: February 7


Current pre- or postdoctoral students attending the SOT Annual Meeting are encouraged to compete for Student Awards.

Submission requirements are:
  1. An updated SOT abstract no longer than one page long,
  2. A letter from the student's advisor outlining the student's role in the research,
  3. and
  4. Pre-submission of the poster (electronic version in pdf format) to be presented at the SOT Annual Meeting to facilitate the judging. (This presubmission does not need to be the final version presented at the meeting.) Students selected by SOT to present their research in a platform rather than poster session should prepare a PowerPoint file of their presentation for judging.

Students must be members of SOT, or show evidence of application for SOT membership. Mentors who are not members are strongly encouraged to join the MSS.

In 2013 the Metals SS awarded the 1st place graduate student with the “Dean E. Carter Graduate Research Award”, a practice we hope to establish permanently at the Annual Meetings.

Awardees Receive: In addition to recognition plaques for each winner, monetary prizes will be awarded for both Postdoctoral and Student categories in the amounts of: First Place-$250, Second Place-$150, and Third Place-$100.

Submission of the same work to more than one specialty section is not allowed. A student or postdoc can only win 1st place once. If you compete one year and win 2nd or 3rd place, then you can compete the following year for 1st place. If, however, you are awarded 1st place, you can still compete in subsequent years, but you will not be awarded 1st place again. You can compete and be awarded 1st place as a student and in a subsequent year as a postdoctoral fellow.

Please send nominations to Mirek Styblo and Erik Tokar via email by February 7, 2020.

This award is made possible by the Metals Specialty Section Student Research Award Fund of the SOT Endowment.

Award Group: SOT

Application Materials:



Mirek Styblo