River Walk Image San Antonio River Walk Image San Antonio

President’s Message

Patricia Ganey

On behalf of the SOT Council, Committees, Exhibitors, Regional Chapters, Special Interest Groups, Specialty Sections, Supporters, and other partners, I invite you to join us in San Antonio, Texas, March 11–15, 2018, for the SOT 57th Annual Meeting and ToxExpo.

Every year, SOT prides itself on hosting the preeminent toxicology conference in the world, providing access to groundbreaking, basic, and applied science. More than 2,000 presenters will be sharing their research and expertise during the 170+ Scientific Sessions, featuring more than 2,500 abstracts.

Based on feedback from our members and meeting attendees, we are excited to announce a new all-day Poster Session format for 2018. We believe this will enhance the experience of all attendees who in the past may not have been able to visit posters due to conflicting schedules.

With more than 6,500 toxicologists from all over the world expected to attend, opportunities for networking and finding new collaborators are abundant—from the Scientific Sessions and other daytime events through the evening receptions. To help attendees make connections, once again, we have created dedicated networking time on Tuesday and encourage you to visit with the 330+ ToxExpo exhibitors during this time. As always, ToxExpo is hosting leading organizations, companies, laboratories, agencies, research partners, and more, ready to provide information on new products and technology, career and partnership opportunities, and other toxicological research-related support.

SOT is delighted to be returning to San Antonio for the first time since 2013. The newly renovated Henry B. González Convention Center is located near the River Walk, adjacent to Hemisfair Park, and a short walk to the Alamo, Spanish Missions, and Market Square.

I hope you join us in the heart of Texas for the 57th Annual Meeting and ToxExpo to help explore, advance, and understand the field of toxicology.


Patricia E. Ganey, PhD
2017–2018 SOT President