President’s Message

CTPVSS President Satya Achanta

Dear Fellow CTPVSS Colleagues,

Hope all of your summer is going well. Despite the constant challenges posed by COVID, in person travels have resumed mostly. I am grateful to have met several of you in San Diego at the SOT meeting back in March this year.

CTPVSS luncheon and Mentorship outings were a rousing success. We had an unofficial record for most attended luncheon this year. It was great to see interest among so many members and future members of CTPVSS. Dr. Satya Achanta DVM, PhD, DABT played a crucial role in the success of these events as a president and I thank him for his contributions to CTPVSS.

It is great to see the evolution of CTPVSS as a unifier of the group objectives of veterinary, comparative toxicology and pathology specialties and as an enabler of wider audience reach at SOT. I am truly humbled to be leading a group of passionate and talented executive committee members that take time out of their busy professional lives to further CTPVSS’s mission. I will be closely working with Katherine Horzmann as Vice President, Sunish Mohanan as VP-elect, Debaprata Mahapatra as Secretary/Treasurer, Sonika Patial and Elizabeth Roberts as Councilors, Catherine Wise as Postdoctoral Rep and Catherine Rojas as Graduate Student Rep. Satya will stay on as a past president.

The mission of our Specialty Section is to provide a focused platform for the interaction of SOT members interested in comparative toxicology, veterinary toxicology, and experimental pathology, and the use of in vivo animal models in toxicology. We aim to establish scientific and educational programs that emphasize current advances, pressing issues, and policies of interest to members and relate those developments to regulatory policy and risk assessment practices. CTPVSS will also be a resource for the Society of Toxicology in the area of veterinary and comparative toxicology and toxicologic exploratory pathology and in vivo animal models.

It is a great honor for me to serve as President of CTPVSS (2022–2023) and I look forward to serving you and uplifting the mission of CTPVSS. Please reach out to me or any of the executive committee members with suggestions and questions.

Gopinath Palanisamy DVM PhD DACVP

President, CTPVSS (2022–2023)